FORUMS

Item Posts    Sort Order

Turning my stock cummins into a beast

Cumma
New User
Posted: 06/08/11 08:23 PM

Hi my names Alex , Im 16 and im in the process of buying my dad 2001 dodge cummins 2500 (24 valve 5.9L). And I would like to put nitto mud grapplers on it size 37 a lift kit and a programmer and I would really like to know what to do watch out for and what to buy, Im pretty new at this and ill have around $4000 to dump into this truck and I would like to get good deal and not waste money on useless stuff so if you could please help me out as in telling me the best programmer and Im looking for a lift kit that will allow Size 37's so probably a 4.5" lift. and I really want to know how to blow smoke like enough to make it so they notice it. Thanks!  

MarineOne
Addict
Posted: 06/09/11 02:20 AM

Not trying to crush your dreams, but why do you want larger tires?

You need to really look hard at putting bigger tires on these trucks because it adds way more stress to the entire front end assembly of the truck, which in turn requires you to do more maintenance.  Oversized tires and wheels will run you half of that $4000 budget you've got, and the lift will eat up the rest.

What I recommend you look at is some slightly oversized tires for the stock wheels, like a 285-70 or 285-75 (Nitto, BFG, Toyo, etc.) because tires will eat up 1/4 of your budget.  You also won't need to mess with your gear ratio either, as the 37 inch tires will take away your pulling and take off power from a dead stop.

A Smarty should run you around $600, gauges around $350, and tires should be around $1100; that's half your budget.  The rest can be put into the exhaust, a lift pump, a better air filter/intake setup, and if you have enough left over some upgrades to the VP-44.

And that's how we spend $4000.

-Kris  

2006 Dodge Ram 2500 QC 5.9L - Smarty CR S-06 on SW #5

2008 Dodge Ram 3500 QC 6.7L - H&S MiniMaxx on DPF tune for towing
Titan Fuel Tank
Aero Muffler 4040XL