Facebook Icon 17X17
Twitter Icon 17X17

2010 Ford Transit Connect Wins 2010 Truck Of The Year....Why??

Truck Trend
Item Posts    Sort Order

2010 Ford Transit Connect Wins 2010 Truck Of The Year....Why??

thesavagepony thesavagepony
User | Posts: 131 | Joined: 10/08
Posted: 01/11/10
05:06 PM

2008 Motor Trend Truck Of The Year Contenders

By now most of you have probably heard that the 2010 Ford Transit Connect won the 2010 Truck Of The Year. While I applaud Ford's victory yet again from the competition, I can't help to ask the question....WHY??? I'm no truck expert nor do I claim to be one but the Transit Connect doesn't exactly look like a truck to me. So how did it win the Truck award??

Ford those of you that might not remember the contenders let me refresh your memory.

2010 North American Truck of the Year nominees:

Acura ZDX
Audi Q5
Cadillac SRX
Chevrolet Equinox
Ford Transit Connect
Honda Accord Crosstour
Land Rover LR4
Lincoln MKT
Subaru Outback
Volvo XC60

Now I'm sorry but I see no truck on this list. If anything this would be a great crossover list or even SUV. But has the truck world really changed that much? How did the Subaru Outback become a truck? Really...a Honda Accord Crosstour?? I'm sorry but in my opinion not one of these vehicles qualify as a truck.

The list of contenders should have looked something like this:

Ford F-150 (Series)
Ford Ranger
Ford Raptor
Dodge Ram (Series)
Dodge Dakota
Chevy Silverado
GMC 1500
Toyota Tundra
Toyota Tacoma
Nissan Titan
Nissan Frontier
Hummer H3T

Now before people start to chew my head off....yes I understand that the rules for becoming a contender must be “all-new” or “substantially changed” from the previous model to qualify. Either way this would have been a much better list to chose from than that sad excuse for contenders. Anywho does anyone here feel that the choice was the right one?? Anyone here have a truck they'd like to pitch in?? What are your thoughts??

Source: Automotive